‘The controversial golf rule’… ‘Matsuyama 3-wood disqualification’

This is the first ‘tear’ on the professional stage.

This is the story of Hideki Matsuyama (Japan). It happened during the first round of the PGA Tour Memorial Tournament (total prize money of $12 million) held at Muirfield Village Golf Club (par 72) in Dublin, Ohio, USA in June last year.

It started when a large white circle was drawn on the black face of the Matsuyama 3-wood on a social network service (SNS) post. Upon receiving the report, the PGA Tour confirmed Matsuyama’s 3-wood and disqualified it, saying, “The line protruding greatly from the groove on the face surface may affect the performance of the club.” Matsuyama drew a circle on his face for alignment so he could hit the ball inside the circle. 토토사이트

According to Rule 4.1a(3) of Golf, you must not intentionally change the performance of a club during a round or make a stroke with a club that has been intentionally altered. It is okay to have unsuitable clubs in the golf bag, but using them during play is grounds for disqualification.

Matsuyama said, “I expected that the visual effect would help the shot,” and bowed his head, saying, “It’s my fault for not knowing the rules.” The host, ‘Living Legend’ Jack Nicklaus (USA) said, “It’s very unfortunate” and “I don’t know if it sounds stupid, but I wasn’t familiar with the rules either.”

Matsuyama is a golf player that Japan is proud of. He won 17 pro career victories, including 8 wins on the PGA Tour, 3 wins on the DP World Tour, and 8 wins on the Japan Professional Golf Tour (JGTO). In particular, he wrote the history of becoming the first Asian player to win the 2021 Masters Tournament of the Masters Tournament.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *